TaCEQ executive resigns citing “degrading situation“

The resignation of an executive from the Quebec Student Roundtable (TaCEQ) last Friday marks the continued disintegration of the student federation. Guillaume Fortin, vice-general secretary of communications and internal affairs, announced his departure from the organization, which currently represents the Students’ Society of McGill University (SSMU) and two associations from[Read More…]

MUS referendum passes new student space fee

Students of the Desautels Faculty of Management’s Undergraduate Society (MUS) voted on Feb. 5 to implement a $40 per semester non-opt-outable student fee for the next three years in a faculty-wide student referendum. The fee will go towards a new Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) Student Space Improvement fund.  The fund[Read More…]

PGSS interim secretary-general candidates introduce platforms

Constituents of the Post-Graduate Students’ Society (PGSS) heard the platforms of the two candidates running for the position of interim secretary-general in a debate on Feb. 10. PhD students Yony Bresler and Saturnin Ndandala submitted their candidacy for the position after previous Secretary-General Juan Pinto’s resignation on Jan. 20. The[Read More…]

PGSS executive interviews

Brighita Lungu Ge Sa Jennifer Murray Juan Pinto Nikki Meadows Julien Ouellet (pgss.mcgill.ca) This week, the McGill Tribune sat down with the Post-Graduate Students’ Society (PGSS) executives to discuss their work this summer and their vision for the upcoming year. Click on the portraits to learn more. Members Affairs Officer,[Read More…]

PGSS predicts surplus for academic year, votes to retain exec titles

Last Wednesday, the Post-Graduate Students’ Society of McGill University (PGSS) Council voted  changing the titles of two executive positions. A motion presented at Council proposed changing “secretary general” to “president” and “financial affairs officer” to “chancellor of the exchequer.” Councillor Juan Camilo Pinto, mover of the motion, explained that the[Read More…]

Contributors from this year

Our contributors make this paper possible. Thank you! We love you. Mayaz Alam Rebecca Alter Mido Assran Emilio Assuncao Rebecca Babcock Hrant Bardakjian Max Berger Justin Berot-Burns Anand Bery Priyanka Biljani Ilia Blinderman Matt Bobkin Anna Bock Tara Boghosian Leah Brainerd Naomi Braude Tessa Bryant Kevin Caplice Meghan Chand Kegan[Read More…]

Immortals looks great but lack characters

straight.com The first thing to note about Immortals is that it’s not 300, at least not entirely. Directed by the remarkable Tarsem Singh and produced by 300 frontmen Mark Canton and Gianni Nunnari, Immortals brings an eclectic blend of stunning visual and creative elements together fairly successfully. Set in the realm[Read More…]

Read the latest issue